MNCOGI presents Finnegan FOI Award to Michele Timmons

Note: Please find the complete press release here (PDF/111KB). Also see another recent post, MNCOGI to host Freedom of Information Event March 14, and a list of former winners of the Finnegan award at

From Minnesota Coalition on Government Information:


Nominations for SPJ Honors

From The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ):

The Society of Professional Journalists annually recognizes exceptional contributions to the media industry through the SPJ Honors. Each award highlights individuals or organizations whose work upholds the pillars of ethical journalism, and we know many journalists and organizations deserve such recognition.

Help SPJ recognize the outstanding members of the journalism community. Take a look at the honors and think of whom you want to acknowledge:


Call for nominations – SPJ presents its 28th James Madison Awards

From Society of Professional Journalists:

The James Madison Freedom of Information Awards recognize Northern California organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to advancing freedom of information and expression in the spirit of James Madison, the creative force behind the First Amendment. SPJ NorCal presents the awards during National Freedom of Information Week near Madison’s birthday, March 16.


Judge awards $186 in FOIA case against city of Blytheville (Miss.)

From Blytheville Courier News:

Second Judicial Circuit Court Judge Pam Honeycutt awarded former Blytheville City Councilwoman Carol White a total of $186.37 in her Freedom of Information Act case against the city of Blytheville Monday afternoon in Mississippi County Circuit Court.

Honeycutt gave the city 60 days to pay the amount, which includes a $165 filing fee and $21.37 in mailing costs.