Nominations still being accepted for 2012 Open Government Hall of Fame


Nominations are still being accepted for a new inductee into the Open Government Hall of Fame.

Heroes of the 50 States: The State Open Government Hall of Fame is a joint venture by the Society of Professional Journalists and the National Freedom of Information Coalition. It was developed by leaders in both organizations as a way to recognize long-term contributions of individuals to open government in their respective states.

Specifically, induction into the Hall recognizes “long and steady effort to preserve and protect the free flow of information about state and local government that is vital to the public in a democracy.” All nominees will be evaluated by a screening committee of SPJ and NFOIC leaders, who will select the winners.

For more information, see or, call SPJ Headquarters at 317.927.8000, email, or contact Ken Bunting, executive director of NFOIC, at or 573.882.3075.

Please send all nomination materials in electronic format to or ship them to:
Ken Bunting
NFOIC Executive Director
University of Missouri-Columbia
101E Reynolds Journalism Institute
Columbia, MO 65211

Deadline for submissions is March 16, 2012.