National Freedom of Information Coalition
Protecting Your Right to Open Government

Four selected to receive Kansas Sunshine Coalition award

The Kansas Sunshine Coalition for Open Government has selected four Johnson County area recipients to receive its 2014 Friend of Open Government Award, it was announced in Topeka today.

This year’s recipients include Rep. John Rubin, Shawnee; Robert and Adlynn Harte, Leawood, and Karen Dillon, a producer with KSTB TV in Kansas City. This year’s awards are based on the four designees’ untiring efforts to open court records for probable cause affidavits supporting arrest and search warrants that a Kansas statute has sealed for 35 years. Thanks in large part to their work, the Legislature enacted a bill unsealing these court records beginning July 1. They had been closed since 1979.

The awards will be presented immediately following a seminar the Sunshine Coalition is co-presenting on the Kansas Open Records and the Kansas Open Meetings Acts that will be presented July 28 from 9:30 a.m. to noon at the Johnson County Library, 9875 W. 87th Street, in Overland Park. Continue>>>