Top open government award going to Washington Sen. Fain

State Sen. Joe Fain of Auburn will be honored Monday evening with the highest legislative award the Washington Coalition for Open Government can bestow. The award celebrates your right to know what government is doing or thinking of doing.

Every year WashCOG selects a state lawmaker dedicated to open government who has worked to strengthen, improve, or protect the state’s Public Records Act and honors them with the Ballard/Thompson Award. The award is named in honor of Clyde Ballard, former Republican speaker of the House, and Alan Thompson, former chief clerk of the House, Democratic representative and senator; both are founding members of WashCOG.

The founders represent something very important about the need and drive to keep government open. They are people who passionately believe that you as a citizen have a right to know about your government. WashCOG has members from across political, philosophic and other spectrums, all united by a common value: that government should be open and transparent to its constituents. If you’re interested in this right, please consider visiting the Washington Coalition for Open Government’s website to learn more. Continue>>>