Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press names new executive director


The steering committee of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press has selected Bruce D. Brown, a former journalist and most recently a partner in the Washington, D.C., office of Baker & Hostetler, as the organization’s new executive director.

Brown, who begins his tenure Sept. 10, was nominated by a search committee of journalists, media lawyers, foundation officials and educators from more than 50 candidates who applied or were nominated for the job. He succeeds Lucy A. Dalglish, who left the Reporters Committee after 12 years as executive director to become dean of the Philip Merrill School of Journalism at the University of Maryland. Legal Defense Director Gregg P. Leslie served as acting executive director in the interim.
Brown’s practice areas include libel and invasion of privacy, copyright, newsgathering, and pre-publication review. He is a lecturer at the University of Virginia Law School, co-directing its First Amendment Clinic, and he is an adjunct faculty member in Georgetown University’s master’s program in professional studies in journalism.