NMFOG announces 2013 Dixon Freedom Award winners

From New Mexico Foundation for Open Government:  Five recipients were selected by FOG Board members to receive the organization’s top award for open government. The award, which has been given since 2002, honors NM FOG co-founder and longtime Board member William S. Dixon. Dixon was an attorney and leading defender of the First Amendment and public rights under the New Mexico Open Meetings Act (OMA) and Inspection of Public Records Act (IPRA).

“The struggle against any culture of secrecy is a lifelong fight that many appreciate yet few actually wage,” NM FOG’s Dixon Awards Chairwoman, Kyla Thompson, said. “When you’re in it for the long haul, you’d better have a sharp intellect and a great sense of humor. Bill Dixon had both. We celebrate his memory and we celebrate those who continue the fight in new and innovative ways. Their perseverance benefits us all, and serves as beacon for democracy through good government in a rapidly changing world.”

The awardees will be honored by NM FOG at its annual awards ceremony on October 2, 2013, at the Embassy Suites, ABQ. This year’s speaker will be Ruben Navarrette, Jr., a syndicated columnist with the Washington Writers Group and columnist with the ABQ Journal.

Visit NMFOG for more details about the award and the banquet.


New Mexico Foundation for Open Government is a member of NFOIC. –eds.