VALDOSTA — If you do the crime, you pay the fine.
Violators of Georgia’s open records and open meetings laws can face fines in civil court, although other avenues for remedy can be used, according to Jennifer Colangelo, Georgia's assistant Attorney General.
Georgia code states that penalties for “failing or refusing to provide access to records not subject to exemption” or “making records difficult to obtain and review” start at a $1,000 fine for the first violation. The fine jumps to $2,500 for repeat offenses within 12 months of the first penalty. (Read more here...)